Country
Germany
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private
The German pastor Wilhelm Busch (1897-1966) once wrote the following:

Why is God silent?

First I would like to say this: The question "Why is God silent?" is wrong. The question sounds as if there was a courtroom: Ms. Spencer or pastor Busch is sitting on the judge's chair. And God sits in the dock. And then we say, "Accused God, how can you allow all of this? Why are you silent?” I want to tell you in all clarity: There is no such thing as a God who lets us sit on the judge's chair and who sits in the dock!
I remember a situation when I was a very young pastor. I had just come to Essen at the age of 27 when a big miners' strike broke out. One day I come across a large square. A man stands on an empty box and talks to the people around him. He speaks of hungry children, starvation wages and unemployment. Suddenly he sees me, recognizes me and roars: "Ha, there is the parson! Come here!” Well, I usually accept a friendly invitation. So I go to this group. The men make space for me so that I can get to the speaker. Maybe a hundred pitmen are around me. I was feeling a little strange. I was not prepared for this kind of situations at university. And then he starts: "Listen, parson! If there is a God - which I don't know but there can be one - then when I am dead I want to stand in front of him and say to him" - and then he shouted - "Why did you allow people to be cut into pieces on the battlefields?! Why did you allow children to starve and others to throw away the food because they had too much?! Why did you allow people to suffer miserably from cancer?! Why? Why?" And then I want to say to him: "You, God, step down! Away with you! Get out!”” This the man screamed. I also shouted: “That's right! Away with this God! Away with this God!” Suddenly it is very quiet. The speaker looks surprised and says: "Wait a minute! You are a pastor! You mustn't shout: "Get rid of this God!"” I replied: "Listen! The God whom you