Was this video at all convinving to you?

• Yes

• No (please explain why in the replies)

• I already agreed

Results are only viewable after voting.

_____a_____

Jan 12, 2019
Reykjavik
✟3,295.00
Country
Iceland
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Private
Hello! I've been working on other things for a few months. Some of you may remember me from my notorious thread asking Christians whether or not they believe in evolution. I am not here to deconvert you. There is no possible way for me to convince you of anything because you will simply dismiss it with some biblical verse. I am simply here to disprove the intelligent design argument of it being unlikely that life exists in its current state by chance. Allow me to disprove this.

I made a video showing the difference between random chance and natural selection. In the first part, it executes a Python script (here it is for the people who are curious) which generates random strings (collections of letters) until it reaches the string "Fifty". Obviously I sped it up, and obviously, it fails because of the 380204032 variations of 5 character strings.

However, when you attempt the same thing, but it automatically selects strings which are closer to "Fifty", which is much more similar to natural selection (though if you want to see a more realistic version of computerised evolution simulations, see Evolution by Keiwan), you get a much shorter attempt number (see the script here, I used Zivia's [an excellent programming YouTube channel if you are into that] script to save time).

NOTES:

• Music during the video is Ashterra - Worlds Inside The Worlds, but I pulled it from the Space Engine soundtrack, which you should check out
  • Sorry about the watermark, but I have had hours and hours of work stolen by people claiming it as their own before and I'm not going to let it happen again.