Visit site
✟1,022,260.00
Country
United States
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
Hello folks. It's been a long time since I've posted here and I hope all are well.

I've been feeling a strong call to the priesthood for quite some time now and just recently have begun to seriously talk about attending seminary with my spiritual father. I was received into Orthodoxy 8 years ago at a Greek parish. Since then I have moved and now attend a ROCOR church. I am conflicted as too whether or not a GOA or ROCOR seminary would be best. I have little to no knowledge of any Greek or Slavonic, so will be starting at square 1 regardless in terms of language learning. I adore the more traditional stance and style of worship found in most Russian churches in America, but I have never come across a ROCOR priest that wasn't a slav. As an Italian convert, I'm a bit concerned as too how I'd be received.
Welcome back to TAW! :)

Upvote 0

E.C.

Jan 12, 2007
✟136,858.00
Country
United States
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Single
Go ROCOR. Yes, there is a distinctly "Russian flavor" to their liturgics and mindset (duh), but they receive converts quite well. Fr. Tryphon of "The Morning Offering" fame was raised Norweigan Lutheran and does quite well in ROCOR.

That and between the two jurisdictions I've had a better welcome in ROCOR than any Greek parish ever.

Upvote 0

~Anastasia~

† Handmaid of God †
Dec 1, 2013
Florida panhandle, USA
✟922,775.00
Country
United States
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
That and between the two jurisdictions I've had a better welcome in ROCOR than any Greek parish ever.
Yeah, you wouldn't still be able to say that if you'd come to my parish that weekend. :p

;)

Upvote 0

Giantsbran1227

The Sinner.
Feb 18, 2008
USA
Visit site
✟16,432.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Republican