Melbourne
✟19,203.00
Country
Australia
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Celibate
I'm new to this idea - I'm not a dispensationalist but just wanting to ask: I was reading a definition of one type that says basically there was mosaic law, now grace. I agree that Christians are "under grace, not law" but did Jesus not die for the sins of Israel in the past? They were looking forward to the Messiah, because it is impossible for man to keep the law, so in justice if the Israelites and Jews under Mosaic law didn't keep it perfectly, which they didn't, they are all condemned. The grace of God was always necessary, from my point of view, or God is not just. Could you explain how you see this for me?

Thanks!
Mim

redleghunter

Thank You Jesus!
Site Supporter
Mar 18, 2014
Texas
✟176,076.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
I’m sure you will get plenty of flavors here.

If you want to know a bit about what is classic Dispensational theology then John Walvoord is a good source.

Reflections on Dispensationalism | Walvoord.com

Most classic Dispensational theologians will join most of Christianity in proclaiming God has always saved by Grace. What they highlight are the various covenants God made with mankind and what promises were made and which were conditional and the ones which were enduring or everlasting.

For example the promises in the Sinai covenant were conditional on obedience.

Whereas the promises to Abraham were by faith and everlasting.

Classic Dispensational theology shares some views with Historic Futurism in that the end times will be literal events with a literal 1000 year millennial kingdom on earth after the Second Coming of Christ. Where the two differ is on the rapture of the church from the tribulation. Both agree Israel as a people will be part of the end times coming to Christ but a Historic Futurist sees this as Jews coming to Christ and being added to the Church.