Hello from the UK - I am very new to Lutheranism...

Die_Eberesche

Mar 2, 2018
Northumbria
✟9,202.00
Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Engaged
Politics
UK-Labour
I am a 32 year old man, father and fiance. I have wrestled with my faith in many ways for many years. I've always loved God and had a space in my heart for Him. Some of the time, that space has been very narrow, and other times it has been very wide. Sometimes I've felt abandoned, and others I've felt loved and saved and secure.

I’ve come to Lutheranism very, very recently. I was baptised as a Roman Catholic and grew up strong in the faith. After various life experiences and interactions with the Clergy and other members of my community, I began to become disillusioned and began to read up on the Reformation. A few years later, my wife (who actually did me a favour here as I’m now with an amazing woman) had an affair and left me. We divorced a few months later and my role as a Catholic teacher was pretty much untenable - and became more so when I met my amazing fiancée and planned to marry her. I became quite bitter by being so judged by my fellow Catholics and so I even turned my back on God for a few months. Out in the cold, away from His love, was a terrible place to be. But I needed that time to wander as a 'nomad' and gather my thoughts. I wasn't lost - I was seeking something more of myself and ensuring I was worthy.

Long story short, I joined the Anglican Communion through the Church of England (as my fiancée is a member) around a year ago as my Christian faith is hugely important to me. As my faith evolves, I’ve been drawn towards Lutheranism and would be delighted if some of you can give me a brief ‘tour’ of the faith?

The Lutheran community in England is very small, but I truly believe this is the path God is leading me down.

Resha Caner

Expert Fool
Sep 16, 2010
✟155,600.00
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married