Florida panhandle, USA
✟922,775.00
Country
United States
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
I wonder if the microcosm I experienced in another situation is at all analogous. I'm afraid it's too micro to apply. But there was a Mennonite community where I used to live, and they shopped almost exclusively from each other. They did open their store to the general public, but there was almost a two-layer thing there.

I wasn't Mennonite, but I was a struggling farmer. I asked the store owner at one time for "seconds" at a cheaper price, and he sold me things usually reserved for those in the community at a cheaper price. (And there was nothing wrong with the quality, in fact.) Another farmer was very generous with advice and information, and helped me in many ways, but I wasn't completely allowed/invited in.

But at any rate, that community benefited greatly, by all appearances, from their dynamics. They really depended on outsiders, almost a "tourist" kind of thing, and their reputation to command premium prices. But the internal workings of the community, from what I could gather, were extremely beneficial. The nicest farm in the area (MUCH nicer than the others) was a part of the community.

• Agree
Reactions: Timahani
Upvote 0

Timahani

Jan 6, 2012
United States-Arizona
✟43,111.00
Faith
Pentecostal
Marital Status
Single
Wow ... well thanks for the extra insight. I see the results, but NO IDEA what's really driving it.

My heart breaks for this.

I kind of wondered what happened with Tyler Perry. I have dearly loved some of the themes he brought up.