Presbyterian Traditional vs. Contemporary?

fingerprint

Α†Ω
Mar 13, 2004
Seattle, WA
✟8,031.00
Faith
Catholic
In a church I am considering attending to see how I like it, called First Presbyterian Church, they have a Traditional Service from 9:30am to 10:30am Sundays and a Contemporary Service from 11:00am to 12:30am Sundays. Their website doesn't say what the difference is at all and why the Contemporary one is half an hour longer. Does anyone have any ideas what the differences might be? I'm new to the Presbyterian church and don't know which one I should attend. Maybe try one this week and the other one the next to see what I like better?

blessedbe

Learning everyday!
Feb 21, 2004
Ohio
✟8,464.00
Faith
Calvinist
I'm not presbyterian, but I think what they mean by contemporary worship is the singing is praise and worship music, not hymnals. As far as why the Contemporary one is half hour longer, maybe they sing for a longer time period. I'm betting that the actual "service" part of the church isn't any different, the difference is in the music. I now attend a community church that does praise and worship music pretty exclusively and I LOVE it. I really get alot more out of contemporary music then hymnals. I personally feel alot closer to God at the end of the music and ready to sit and learn during service. But that's just me.... :)
Anyway, maybe a presbyterian in here can answer you better!

Upvote 0

Wilfred of Ivanhoe

Lord, Humble Me
Jan 25, 2004
Texas
Visit site
✟1,635.00
Faith
Protestant
Marital Status
Married
fingerprint said: