May 5, 2006
✟67,881.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
I work for a great company and love my job, but over the last 3-4 months I feel like I'm being forced into a leadership role which I do not want. I have been a Staff Engineer at an automotive manufacturer for about the last 2 years. Before that I was a project engineer, and before that a manufacturing engineer (all at the same company). I've had great managers who have not only been excellent leaders, but they have recognized my hard work and promoted me throughout the years; and for that I'm grateful.

About 3-4 months ago, one of our managers was promoted, which led to me being appointed as the 'interim' engineering manager. I'm fine with filling in temporarily, but becoming a manager has never been part the career path which I had planned for myself. It's far too political for me, and although I feel like I can relate to people and lead people very well (although not as good as the former engineering manager), it's just not where my passions lie - I'm much more interested in the technical side of engineering. My current (or maybe former role) as the Staff Engineer was to lead the (much smaller) projects team, and also to help out the production engineers when needed - and I feel like it is a role that fit my passions and personality very well.

Since being appointed as the 'interim' engineering manager, it's pretty much been implied that the role is mine permanently if I want it... but in my heart I just don't. The biggest drawbacks for me are:

1. You can't ever truly walk away from work... ever. The exception to this is when you are on vacation. But other than that, when you go home your phone is with you at all times, and for the most part you're expected to answer it.
2. If a major piece of production equipment is down, it pretty much dominates your life until it is back up and running again.