daniel0809

Jun 27, 2013
✟15,115.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Single
Hi,

I have a brief question regarding the usefulness of a Catholic education if one desires to be a part of the Orthodox Church. I am studying at a Catholic University in Steubenville, Ohio, getting my M.A. in Theology. However I am slowly realizing that the Orthodox Church would be a more appropriate place for me since I do not believe in the Pope and since Orthodoxy is more closely connected historically to the early church, which was founded in the East (Alexandria, Antioch, Constantinople, Jerusalem, etc) as opposed to Rome. I just started the M.A. program and am wondering if I should even continue with a Catholic education if I desire to join the Orthodox Church. I am originally a Protestant. I really thought I wanted to be Catholic but Orthodoxy just appeals to me more if I am going to join a liturgical and historic Church.

Is there any use for a Catholic education if one ends up abandoning the Catholic church in favor of Orthodoxy? There is an Orthodox community here in Steubenville and I have reached out to a priest regarding my situation.

Aug 27, 2012
United States of America
✟41,078.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Single
It depends. (I'm a former RC) In some ways it will be helpful, in some ways, not so much. I would say more helpful than not compared to coming to straight from a Protestant background.

How it would be helpful:

Acceptance of Mary as the Mother of God and along with that, the intercessions of the saints

Acceptance of salvation as being a process rather than a one time event

Acceptance of the authority of the Church and holy tradition

Much less revulsion towards the veneration of the saints and relics

How it may not be helpful:

Heavy emphasis on scholasticism, rationalism