coolhandluke

*a princess*
Jun 26, 2002
Arkansas
Visit site
✟8,509.00
Faith
Calvinist
What is the biblical basis for the age of accountability theory? I'm not looking for a debate. This is just something I'm studying right now, and I want to know from people that believe in this, to help me understand why, biblically, they believe this. I also would prefer no "I can't believe the loving God I know would send innocent children to hell..." and those type, emotional, answers. I'm looking for some examples in scripture where it says children go to Heaven.

As of now, I'm leaning more towards the thought that children of Christian parents go to Heaven if they die, because they are sanctified through their parents faith, and children of non-Christian parents are not sanctified. That's what the verses I've found so far have led me to believe, but I have no clear opinion on it. And I'm not unwilling to believe that God sends babies to hell, because God can do whatever he pleases, but I'm also more than willing to believe in the age of accountability. Basically I'm trying to say that I have no sure opinions as of now on the subject, so I'm pretty open.

Thanks in advance for your help.

-Katie

pax

Veteran
Apr 3, 2002
Michigan
Visit site
✟2,780.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Single
In Catholicism I know that children are not morally responsible for their actions until they reach the Age of Discretion (which the general consensus says is around 7 years old). I would doubt that God sends anyone to Hell without looking at all sides of a situation. A newborn (or unborn) child can't really be held accountable for their actions, and though they have the stain of original sin, they have no personal sin in them. Basically trust in the mercy of the all-powerful, all-wise, all-loving God. He will make a just decision.

Upvote 0

heydeerman

"Bow Huntin' Fool"
Mar 31, 2002
Ohio
Visit site
✟402.00