Jul 3, 2011
✟88,257.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private
The old way, there was emotional music that sometimes began before the pastor even finished his sermon. Then as the sermon wound down, an 'invitation' was made to 'come forward' and 'accept Jesus as your savior.' When this happened, someone was there to sit you down on the front pew and hand you a card to fill out. After it appeared that no more people would come forward, the music would stop and those who came forward would stand up, be turned around to face the congregation, and voted on right then or there as to whether the person should be allowed to join the church, either by profession of faith, personal 'statement,' or 'transfer by letter' from a 'sister' church where they had previously been a member, within the institutional denomination.