Feb 15, 2013
✟48,157.00
Country
United States
Faith
Reformed
Marital Status
Married
Don Marquis has the best argument for why abortion is immoral. He says that if you believe it is wrong to kill a normal adult human being then you should also believe it is wrong to abort a human fetus. It goes like this:

First premises:
  1. One reason it is wrong to kill a normal adult human being (NAHB) because killing them harms them.
  2. Killing a NAHB harms them because it deprives them of a valuable, human future (VHF).
  3. Therefore, killing a NAHB is wrong because it deprives them of a VHF. (Among other reasons).
This moral principle is also true in cases of abortion:
  1. Killing a fetus deprives it of a VHF.
  2. Therefore killing a fetus is wrong for the same reason that killing a NAHB is wrong.
  3. Therefore abortion is immoral.
It's about a successful a philosophical argument as I've seen (I hold a degree in philosophy, I've seen a few arguments). Some people try to challenge it in the following ways but I think all of these are unsuccessful:

"According to Marquis' principle birth control, masturbation, and menstruation would also be immoral because human sperm and eggs have a VHF just like a fetus does."

This objection fails for scientific reasons. When a sperm fertilizes an egg, genetically speaking the sperm and egg cease to exist and a brand new human zygote is formed. The zygote is genetically unique from both the sperm and the egg. There is great reason to consider a zygote a potential human being whereas there is very little reason to consider an independent sperm or egg a potential human being. Therefore, the zygote has a VHF in a way that a sperm or egg alone does not.