Resha Caner

Expert Fool
Sep 16, 2010
✟155,600.00
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
That's an interesting question. Technically, one is orthodox until one is declared to be a heretic. It would be impossible to know if and when the heart changed. So, are you looking for the "official" answer, or an opinion from someone who is an expert on his life?

I am not an expert on Origen, so I can only give you the historical details. He was born into a Christian family in 184. He was controversial in his own lifetime, but wasn't condemned until 543 (long after his death).

There is a story (I believe from Eusebius) that after his father was martyred, the woman who took him in was harboring heretics, and Origen refused to stay with them. If you believe the story, and don't think it might have been contrived to protect his reputation, then he began orthodox.

There were several things about his beliefs I would disagree with:
* His Neo-Platonism came near to Gnosticism
* He believed in the pre-existence of souls
* He believed all are eventually saved (even the angels)

With that said, it's hard to know how many of the heresies attributed to him were things he actually believed. After being declared a heretic, there was an effort to destroy all his writings, and that makes reading Origen himself a bit difficult.

That's the extent of what I know about him.

Upvote 0

Unix

Hebr incl Sirach&epigraph, Hermeneut,Ptolemy,Samar
Site Supporter
Nov 29, 2003
ECC,Torah:ModeCommenta,OTL,AY BC&RL,Seow a ICC Job
Visit site
✟139,217.00
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Single
I like Origen, I agree with almost everything he wrote instead of agreeing with today's Christianity:
There were several things about his beliefs I would disagree with:
* His Neo-Platonism came near to Gnosticism
* He believed in the pre-existence of souls
* He believed all are eventually saved (even the angels)

Upvote 0
D

Denys

I know this is a year old ... but I am a fan of Patristics!