The Father IS God, the Son IS God and the Holy Spirit IS God. How many Gods are there? ONE?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Imagican

old dude
Jan 14, 2006
Orlando, Florida
✟45,021.00
Faith
Christian Seeker
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
You shall find there are a huge number of conversations about the trinity on the boards here. What did the Lord say in Deuteronomy 6:4?
And then in John 4:24?
Now in Isaiah 55:8?

There's a reason those are out of order. God is one. He is a spirit. We can't conceive of God's ineffability. However, what I believe is hoped to come across in his word is that God is like you are if you wish to understand what is commonly referred to as the trinity.
My pastor back in the states once used this analogy to describe the trifold beingness of God so as to make it comprehensible in contemporary imagery.

He used himself as an example so here goes: "I'm a pastor, a husband, and a father. Does this mean there are three men living in the family house? No. It means I am one man in three forms of duty and responsibility and therefore identity. But I am still that one man in all those things I do that are called, pastor, husband, father."

That's God. There are not three. As he told us , there's only the one.
Who is a spirit, who is a holy spirit,1 Peter 1:16, and who came to the earth to prove his truth and existence to the world as Yehoshua/Yeshua/Jesus Christ. [ "anointed deliverer"]http://www.hebrew-streams.org/frontstuff/jesus-yeshua.html
John 10:30.

Just my thoughts. I hope this assists your search. God bless.

I find it amusing that you first state that we can't even conceive of God's exact nature then go on to use an analogy comparing God to a pastor, (man), being a 'pastor, husband and father'. You state that God is 'Spirit' then compare Him to that which is 'mortal'. Can you see the irony?

God is the Father of Christ, His Son. This is what the Bible states. This is what Christ Himself states.