"Stamping" Prayer with Jesus' Name

Akahige

Oct 29, 2012
✟15,127.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Hello! This is my first time posting here or in any of the forums, but just to give you a brief prelude to my question, I was raised Methodist, became agnostic/atheist for a number of years, came back to a Southern Baptist church, went to a non-denominational church, did the "free-range" thing and then passed by but not through Catholicism on my way to discovering Orthodoxy. After much searching, research and simply feeling the impact of Orthodox teachings, I'm extremely confident that this is where the fullness of truth is to be found and hence where I want to be. That said, I'm not yet Orthodox due to some health issues slowing me down, but I at the very least want to push in that direction.

Now as to my question, it's a rather simple one really, but having been brought up in Protestant churches and having been exposed to that my whole life, I learned that you are always to end a prayer by saying, "In Jesus' name." It was treated as if the prayer had no power unless you basically stamped it with Jesus' name to send it off to God. Considering this now, I continue to do it, but I don't know whether this is a legitimate thing or simply force of habit. What do the Orthodox say? Is it really necessary to do, or is this really just a protestant practice?

Thanks for your time and help!

ikonographics

In patience I waited patiently on the Lord
Apr 27, 2008
Greece
Visit site
✟27,987.00
Country
Greece
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Single
First of all, welcome to TAW:) Feel free to come and join us in the main section. You'll probably get more responses there.