Ok to pray for God to take away a job offer that I wasn't meant for?

Aug 5, 2020
Toronto
✟15,698.00
Country
Canada
Faith
Protestant
Marital Status
Single
I've been an architect at the same firm for 8 years (basically right out of school), and while I love it here and get a lot of trust from the higher-ups to design fancy civic/institutional buildings, I felt my calling and real strength is in multi-family residential work, a market that my current firm can't get into because of our high overhead. I wasn't planning on switching firms during Covid, but a friend took the liberty of passing along my info to a recruiter, who proposed a few firms. I was interested in only one of the firms and got an interview with them, but while the job seems to fit 95% of my criteria - (the people are nice too and the office is only a 5 min walk away!), I'm hesitant and risk-adverse. The only other 5% is that a bigger salary increase would've sealed the deal (but I never expected that anyway switching from a big fancy firm to a smaller local one). I am hoping for a clear sign from God that this won't be a mistake that I'll regret, so I prayed that I won't have to make a tough decision and that the firm will just reject me if the job wasn't meant for me.

I requested a follow-up interview seeking more clarifications about the role, confirm they were ok with my expected salary etc, in which the partner at the firm said they were already going give me the offer based on the first interview. Still it doesn't feel like an obvious choice. Maybe my faith is weak and I'm not hearing God speaking to me, so I really hope he can be less subtle about it!

A_Thinker

Site Supporter
Apr 23, 2004
Midwest
✟953,784.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married