✟8,867.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Hi everyone!

I've been a nominal Christian for a while, I've read the Bible and I know a fair amount about a number of denominations. Despite all that, of course, I am still a beginner since I only recently made the decision after years of soul-searching to actually try to live as a Christian.

I know that studying the Bible will be a life-long pursuit, but right now I don't know where to begin since I know that prayerfully studying the Bible is very different from just passively reading it.

I was going to buy a Study Bible to help me, but I realized that all of the Study Bibles I saw were each coming from their own denominational perspective. For example, the ESV Study Bible seems to be Calvinist.

I know that I intend to follow Christ as a Bible-believing Christian and I know that I have to study the Bible from those wiser than myself in order to do that. But I have no idea what resources to get in order to be able to do that. I have no idea what, if any, denomination I may end up in. So how do I proceed to acquire good study materials?

faroukfarouk

Fading curmudgeon
Apr 29, 2009
Canada
✟279,058.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
Hi; it's so important and so wonderful for daily prayer and Bible reading to concentrate on the Person and Work of the Lord Jesus Christ at the Cross! :)

John's Gospel is so special. Romans is all about the believer's right standing with God through faith in Christ. Hebrews is all about how the Person and finished work at the Cross of the Lord Jesus are better than anything that came before in the Old Testament and can never be improved on in time or eternity. Psalms contain the highs, the lows, the joys, the anguish, the Messianic passages, the sure expressions of faith.

Prayerfully considered, God's Word makes wonderful reading. :)

Upvote 0

Kevin Snow

May 14, 2018
Wesley Chapel
✟24,373.00
Country
United States
Faith
Presbyterian
Marital Status
Single