How to step down from the worship team?

Dec 29, 2004
Rock Town Saskatchewan
✟7,622.00
Faith
Pentecostal
Marital Status
Single
For a few months now I have been feeling as though it is time for me to step down from the worship team. I attend a small town church with maybe 50 people in attendance right now. I'm the only keyboard player right now and I've been playing for almost 10 years in my church. Recently we got a new Pastor and he changed the worship team "rules" quite drastically which included "removing" me from worship leading(I'm really not sure why, it was never explained). There was a lot of confusion and upset when the changes occured amongst my family who are also a large part of the worship team as the church is so small. I decided that during the tumolt wouldn't be the greatest time to quit as I didn't want to inscite people with all the excess emotions floating around. I had tried to step down before and my mother said, "God wouldn't tell you to stop using your talent." Which I disagreed with. I feel like I'm in a tight corner and I've been searching my heart to make sure that my reasons for stepping down are legitimate. I don't want to quit to spite someone or leave them without and If I'm sure my resolve will be stronger. We have 4 worship leaders all of which use me to play so I feel more like I have a duty to them than anything else. I feel like there are going to be a lot of questions I don't have answers to. I don't know how to step down and remain in the church as I know I will disappoint a lot of people. I also don't want to be responsible for others quiting the worship band because of my actions. Any suggestions? Tomorrow I'm fasting and praying because I feel like this needs to be addressed as it causes me great anxiety. I know my husband would support me indefinately but it's everyone else I have to stand my own against...

redeemedbygrace24

Jan 1, 2013
✟9,537.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Single