How Do I Set Healthy Boundaries With My Abusive Mother if I Still Live With Her? Need Advice.

Ramirez122

Aug 30, 2019
Amman
✟9,404.00
Country
Jordan
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
I am wondering if anyone here was ever in the same situation. I am an adult (21) who is still living with his parents and my mom is simply incapable of being a good mother. She is emotionally abusive, unrepentant, a blame shifter...etc. I had many fits of anger throughout my living with her because she just doesn't know how to admit to being wrong or be respectful and understanding towards me. About a week ago we had a big fight over my performance in college. I am studying on a scholarship and she was mad over how I failed a course. It matters because my scholarship would have been at risk of being taken away from me and my parents would owe a huge amount of money but in the end, there wasn't much to worry about after all. My performance has been going backward ever since Covid hit but I'm still trying my hardest. In fact, this semester in college I was putting in a lot more work than I had been doing in previous years and by God's grace, I was making huge progress in recovering from some addictions that I had in the past. She was understandably concerned about the money, but when I tried to explain that I was doing my best she simply shrugged it off and said: "I know, but try harder".

To me, it felt devastating to see how I was doing everything I could and making so much progress in many areas of my life but in the end, all she cared about was results and that she doesn't lose money. Anyway, I burst out in anger and was trying to explain all I had been doing but she simply shrugged that off and started blaming me for all the times she had seen me use my phone or listen to something using my headphones as if that was all I had been doing.