How do I know which decisions God wants me to make?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Many of you already know my painful story. It's listed on another thread. Right now, I'm going through some difficult trials and I believe it's a huge test from God. God is calling on me and I'm responding. I'm looking to get closer to him and I'm seeking his comfort and guidance.

I have a question for the rest of you. How do you know what route God wants you to take in life? There is one serious decision that I have to make and I'm not sure what to do.

The Issue:

Since I was in high school, I've always wanted to become a lawyer. Well last year I graduated from the university and this year I was planning on attending law school. I'm scheduled to take the LSAT (law entrance exam) in two weeks but because I have been going through an emotional hell of late, I haven't been able to focus and study for this test.

This is a very difficult test and I don't want to go into it unprepared. I'm afraid that if I take it in two weeks, I won't do very well and that will hurt my educational career.

Many of you might ask, "why not just take it later?" Well, here's the problem. If I want to begin law school at the beginning of 2003, I must take it in 2 weeks. If I reschedule for the next test, which is in September, I won't be able to begin school until September of 2003. It's really not that big of a deal. I could wait but I don't know if that's the right decision.

My parents believe that I should focus on my mental health and get close to God right now. They feel that God may be telling me that it's not my time to go back to school so quickly.

What do you all think? What would you all do in my situation? Do you think the bad timing of my serious personal issues and the date of this test all happened for a reason?