From a Christian perspective, is there a right time for a baby?

Meglin

Jul 31, 2017
Phoenix
✟16,646.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
My husband and I are exploring Christianity together after being agnostics/questioning for many years. We have been attending church every week together to explore this desire for truth and are finding that Christianity may hold more than we ever realized.

I'm curious on the Christian perspective on when it is "right" (or if it is wrong to deny) bringing children into the world. My husband and I have been a couple for 9 years, living together for 5, and have been married for 6 months. I have a yearning to have a baby although we aren't in ideal circumstances. We are 24, live in an apartment, and don't make a ton of money. I am a school teacher and he works for a major airline in an entry level position. We don't have a lot in savings, but our income won't drastically increase for several more years as he moves up in the company.

We have been avoiding pregnancy because of these reasons but I yearn for a baby every day. Since exploring Christianity, I am curious if this is a desire being placed in my heart from God or just my desires to selfishly fulfill the one thing I've ever wanted: to be a mother.

How can I discern the two? What does the Bible and Christianity say about the "right time" to procreate? Is it really wrong to be preventing pregnancy right now instead of trusting in God's timing?

Honesty-SJ

Apr 5, 2016
Canada
✟26,594.00
Country
Canada
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Considering Mary was said to have been roughly 14 years of age when she gave birth, I don't see any reason to refrain from children as a young woman unless they are born out of wedlock.