East Coast
✟39,498.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian Seeker
Marital Status
Private
Actually I think that the question "what is reality? " (at least "what is physical reality") must be addressed thorugh a rational analysis of our scientific knowledges.
I just recently learned that the term universe gets used differently, and that it has been redefined a few times, that was news to me. So I was probably being careless with how I was going back & forth between the words reality and universe. By reality I mean absolutely everything that there is, by universe I mean everything that exists in reality that is physical.
Since I am a physicist, I think that physics provides fundamental information about the nature of phsyical reality.
In fact, the extraordinary success of the laws of physics in predicting sistematically with great accuracy natural phenomena, reveals a fundamental property of the universe, which is its close correspondence with abstract mathematical structures, to the point that abstract mathematical structures are the only means to identify general principles able to account coherently for the variety of natural phenomena.

The physical reality manifests itself as a realization of some specific abstract mathematical structures (what we call “the laws of physics”); in fact, according to modern science, the building blocks of the universe are not particles, but quantum fields, which are abstract mathematical structures which properties are abstract mathematical properties. This close correspondence with abstract mathematical structures represents the most fundamental and relevant information that science provides about the nature of the universe and the physical reality.