✟293,276.00
Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Hi

I am considering converting and am having trouble over Transubstantiation but it is not the usual one as I am not a Protestant believing that it is a symbol.

My belief is that Christ was showing the disciples, the night before He died, that the old Jewish ritual, would become a real feeding on Him the Bread of Life. Like everything else in the Jewish religion, what was once a symbol would become a reality in the spiritual realm. There is no point having a symbol become another symbol.

So now, I believe that I am feeding on Him, His flesh and blood, moment by moment as my very life. But I have nothing against those who want to partake and who perhaps don't feel that they are partaking in His real flesh and blood in the same spiritual way.

The reason why He told the disciples to 'do this' until He came again was for them to 'show forth His death', but He did come to them again when He arose. He was no longer dead.

At Pentecost the fire fell and the disciples were now able to feed on Him in the way He had shown them, living their very lives from His power.

So can someone help me please or perhaps tell me whether I would be accepted into the faith with my belief?

Rhamiel

Member of the Round Table
Nov 11, 2006
ohio
✟241,111.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Single
I am just going to try and reword what you said to make sure I understand it.

You believe that since we have the Holy Spirit inside us, we do not need a Eucharist that is really Jesus because we already have God within us through the Holy Spirit?

do I have a basic understanding of this?

Upvote 0

bmjackson

Site Supporter
Aug 10, 2007
UK
✟293,276.00
Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
I am just going to try and reword what you said to make sure I understand it.