How important is the study and challenge of theological concepts to you?

• Very important

Votes: 6 100.0%
  • Mildly important

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Not very important

• Not important at all

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Pokeli

Jun 6, 2018
Indianapolis
✟8,368.00
Country
United States
Faith
Presbyterian
Marital Status
Single
Hello,

I'm currently an theology undergraduate and because I'm interested in research and teaching at the collegiate level, I'm looking at graduate programs after I earn my bachelor's. I live in Indiana and I'd prefer not going too far from the state (my family is here). I've been looking at Xavier, Missouri State, and Christian Theological Seminary in Indianapolis.

I wanted to get some input from the community for how I should approach looking at programs, which programs you recommend/don't recommend, and anything I should know before entering into this journey?

Thank you!

Shane R

Priest
Site Supporter
Jan 18, 2012
Southeast Ohio
✟567,460.00
Country
United States
Faith
Anglican
Marital Status
Widowed
The Biblical language coursework is always the big challenge. I don't personally think studying the Hebrew is all that important but a lot of schools require it, particularly Protestant schools. With Catholic schools, you have to really look at the core requirements of the program. Some Catholic schools bog you down with hours upon credit hours of canon law, which is probably not something you have a great need for in a Presbyterian context.

As with many other things, certain schools have more prestige value if you are aiming to break into academia. You might consider giving Asbury down in KY a hard look. There's also Concordia Ft. Wayne and Bethany in your home state. Those three all have good reputations and place a lot of people into academia.

Upvote 0

Pokeli

Jun 6, 2018
Indianapolis
✟8,368.00
Country
United States
Faith
Presbyterian
Marital Status
Single