✟46,483.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Hey all,
I'm struggling with something a little odd and was wondering if anyone had some insight. I'm a writer, been writing for many years, and I'm hoping to be published someday, but for now I just write for fun.

Here's my problem, though: recently (as in, like, the last couple of days) I've come to the realization that I get too much enjoyment out of writing my characters in pain. I get the whole "conflict and struggles make for a compelling story," and most of the time my characters are rescued, or something happens to make things okay again. But I feel like I get too much enjoyment out of writing the actual Interrogation Scene or Character Gets Wounded scene. I feel like there's something wrong with me, and I should just stop writing. But I don't want to do that, because what if being able to write is a gift from God? Most people I've heard from on this (via Reddit) say it's normal. Maybe I'm over thinking it. But it feels wrong. Anyone come across something like this?

Side note: I'm pretty sure I have OCD. While the above is a genuine problem, I'm not sure if the amount of anxiety I'm feeling is from OCD, or from it being a issue. I could just be over thinking this and need to let it go completely, or it's an actual issue, but my brain is blowing it out of proportion. Or something else..

Halbhh

Everything You say is Life to me
Site Supporter
Mar 17, 2015
catholic -- embracing all Christians
✟1,158,778.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Hey all,
I'm struggling with something a little odd and was wondering if anyone had some insight. I'm a writer, been writing for many years, and I'm hoping to be published someday, but for now I just write for fun.