Iowa City
✟366.00
Country
United States
Faith
Baptist
Marital Status
Single
Pardon the question that I have, but this is I believe the only place I’ll find good solid advice at this time. Please keep in mind while reading the question below, that the result of my actions can have an effect on others at work as well as my own well being.

I have been working for a large construction contractor for the last 6 months. This isn’t just a job for me, it’s really a dream come true due to the benefits, and I believe God placed me where I am for more than one reason. Let me explain why: I spent the first 12 years of my adult life abusing alcohol and drugs, addicted to everything sinful after being raised in a Bible believing church, and finally through the help of a Bible based halfway house, I was able to kick the bad habits and even found myself preaching the Gospel to troubled young men like myself. That was over 4 years ago, I maintained 100% sobriety since, and am hoping to fix a whole lot more with the help of my new-ish job (under 6 months since hired).

Considering a large percentage of construction workers have addiction problems, I figured I couldn’t have found a better place to share my experiences and how I personally conquered my addictions. Although my church attendance has been spotted lately, I still find myself reading the Bible and praying regularly, I’ve even found those around me asking for advice, and I’m speaking of people that typically wouldn’t take advice from a new guy on the job. I can’t say I’ve been the best representative of Christ, but I’m doing the best I can given the circumstances (let’s just say my journeyman I was placed with has the number of the beast, in house address numbers, on his work cart).