PRINCIPLES OF THE DOCTRINE OF CHRIST (teaching)

dkbwarrior

Favoured of the Lord
Sep 19, 2006
Tulsa, Oklahoma
✟14,349.00
Faith
Word of Faith
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
This is the first of a series of lessons that I have been teaching at our church for the past two months based on Hebrews 6:1-2 entitled The Principles of the Doctrine of Christ. I intend to post the rest of the lessons one at a time. I thought some of you may enjoy them.

Peace...

Lesson 1:
INTRODUCTION

Knowing basic Christian doctrines is important for the believer because it provides a foundation of beliefs from which to live. Hosea 4:6 teaches us that God’s people can actually suffer destruction because of a “lack of knowledge.” Solomon, the wisest man who ever lived said:

5Get wisdom, get understanding:
forget it not; neither decline from the words of my mouth.
7Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom:
and with all thy getting get understanding.
Ref. – Proverbs 4:5, 7(KJV)

Understanding is the revelation of the wisdom of God’s Word and the corresponding ability (power/might) to apply it to our lives. As we learn the basic principles of God’s Word, the power of Gods wisdom that those principles contain will begin to change us from the inside out into the image of Christ, if we allow it to work in us.

Jesus put it this way:

46And why call ye me, Lord, Lord, and do not the things which I say?
47Whosoever cometh to me, and heareth my sayings, and doeth them,
I will shew you to whom he is like:
48He is like a man which built an house, and digged deep,
and laid the foundation on a rock:
and when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently upon that house,
and could not shake it: for it was founded upon a rock.
49But he that heareth, and doeth not, is like a man that
without a foundation built an house upon the earth;
against which the stream did beat vehemently, and immediately it fell;
and the ruin of that house was great.
Ref. Luke 6:46-49(KJV)