Is Observing the 7th day Sabbath a Requirement for Salvation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerry kelso

Food For Thought
Mar 13, 2013
✟104,142.00
Faith
Pentecostal
Marital Status
Married
This is my first post and my mission is to help SDAs and those who are considering becoming Sabbath observers to hear the real truth from the scriptures. I was SDA for almost 40 years. I studied with members for 2 years before I agreed to become a member. The hook that brought me into that faith was the Sabbath command found in the book of Exodus. I had been taught the 10 commands from early childhood and when they questioned me about which day was the 7th day I submitted to what I thought was the truth. It has taken me many years to unravel all that I learned from those sincere people.

I call my rebuttal to Sabbath observers Sabbath 101 and it is very simple to grasp. God in all of history, OT Biblical and ancient, has ever ask anyone except the Israelites to observe any day. Yes, He made a way for Gentiles to join in with the Israelites. I do not dispute that. When we come to the New Testament and the history of Jesus and all the Bible writers the search for them asking or commanding newly converted Christians to observe any day is not found. Paul in 2 Cor 3:7-11 wrote that the commandments that were against us, written on stones, were transitory (temporary). He also had a lot to say about the Law throughout his writings. John in 1Jn 3 tells us that the commands we must observe to be a Christian is to believe in Jesus and love our fellow man. If the Sabbath were as important as SDAs claim (if you don't observe it you will lose your eternal salvation as per Ellen White, their prophet) then why didn't some, inspired by God, Bible writer tell us?