Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
Politics
CA-Others
Ive been trying to get to grips with the theory evolution but i cant understand how whales evolved or why they have not evolved gills.From what i can gather they evolved from land mammals and these land mammals must of at some point evolved from sea animals that once had the ability to breath underwater so why have they not re evolved gills surely that would suit them better.It seems as a species they have gone from gills to lungs two completely different organs but they cant go from lungs to gills an organ there ancestors must have had at some stage.Id appreciate any thoughts on this but i request you keep it simple as its not something im an expert in.

Nithavela

our world is happy and mundane
Apr 14, 2007
Comb. Pizza Hut and Taco Bell/Jamaica Avenue.
✟494,075.00
Country
Germany
Faith
Other Religion
Marital Status
Single
First you need to understand that evolution does not aim for "optimal", but for "able to reproduce". And breathing by lungs is more then enough for them to reproduce, evidently. Also, they may not have changed that they need to breathe trough luns, but they developed blowholes and the ability to hold their breath for a very long time.

Upvote 0

Shemjaza

Site Supporter
Apr 17, 2006
✟927,429.00
Country
Australia
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Single
Politics
AU-Greens
Evolution can only work with individual steps that either help or don't hurt the species survival.

Land animals evolved from sea creatures who lived part of their time on land, so the first lungs worked in conjunction with gills not instead of. (The modern lungfish and mud skippers are examples creatures who live on the borderline of land and water.)

While the ability to breath water directly would probably be an advantage to sea mammals, instead they have developed the ability to hold their breath fora very long time.