Oneofthediaspora

Jul 9, 2008
Liverpool
✟9,124.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married
I'm new to these fora and as I'm a Catholic I thought I'd introduce myself here. My name's Mike and I live in Liverpool, England.

Looking through the threads here it seems that everyone is from the U.S.A or Canada. Anyone from my side of the Atlantic?

What really strikes me as interesting reading the threads is the amount of time and enthusiasm you spend discussing the candidates for the US presidential election. In Britain, this wouldn't happen. I think all these years of Tony Blair and NuLabour has created an unparalleled degree of political apathy over here.

In case you're interested, I reckon the general view in Britain re the American presidential election can be simplified as follows:
Obama ...good.
McCain .... bad.

This is obviously a generalisation but that's the attitude I seem to come across.

Anyway, I hope the best candidate wins for you.
Pax vobiscum.

krstlros

Currently Under Construction
Site Supporter
Jun 16, 2004
Within the arms of God
✟52,810.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Democrat
Welcome to CF and OBOB. :)

Despite what it may look like, yes there are others around from other parts of the world, including England. They've just been hiding lately.

Paruse around. Ask questions. Start a thread, join a thread. In general, make yourself at home.

Again, welcome. :)

Upvote 0

InTheCloud

Veteran
May 9, 2007
Planet Earth
✟12,597.00
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Single
Politics
US-Libertarian
There are lots of Brits and Mick here but lately they seem to be a bit shy.

Europe leans to the left to the US. I would like to know the case that the Euro media (I get the BBC, Deutche Welle and two Spanish Channels) has portrayend a Republican canditade in a good way. Europeans oftem seen genuninely surprised when the Reeps win election after election.

Upvote 0

Oneofthediaspora

Jul 9, 2008
Liverpool
✟9,124.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
Married