He stood at the door and knocks ...

ananda

Early Buddhist
May 6, 2011
Soujourner on Earth
✟186,371.00
Marital Status
Private
When Messiah spoke to the Laodicean congregation (Rev 3:14-22), do you believe it is significant that He was standing outside the door, knocking for them to let Him in (v20)?

ἰδού, ἕστηκα ἐπὶ τὴν θύραν καὶ κρούω ἐάν τις ἀκούσῃ τῆς φωνῆς μου καὶ ἀνοίξῃ τὴν θύραν εἰσελεύσομαι πρὸς αὐτὸν καὶ δειπνήσω μετ᾽ αὐτοῦ καὶ αὐτὸς μετ᾽ ἐμοῦ

"See, I stood at the door and I knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I shall come in to him and shall dine with him, and he with Me."

Last edited:

Lulav

Y'shua is His Name
Aug 24, 2007
✟494,948.00
Country
United States
Faith
Unorthodox
Marital Status
Married
Very astute! I never looked at it that way before.

I remember years ago I volunteered to make some banners to decorate the space we were using for the Purim Spiel. As an artist I always have way too many ideas, but this time I had artists block (like writers blocks but not with words. ). The date came closer and closer and I couldn't settle on anything and it was starting to scare me, I didn't think I'd get it done in time. (The Lord knows I futz with things until the last moment and he didn't want me to have a second to spare, literally I was putting the finishing touches on them in the building only an hour or two before it started. )

But when he revealed to me what he wanted on those banners, one of them was that very verse. I didn't' question why, I guess being raised in the Church and seeing that picture by Warner Sallman three or four times a week it didn't register.

I changed the wording from 'sup' to 'Oneg' and Yeshua wasn't pictured , only the door but the words were there.