Mar 18, 2006
Salt Lake City
Visit site
✟9,052.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
My name is Mitchell McKain and I am surprised that username was taken. This was the hardest forum to register for of any I have been in.

I asked Jesus into my life to save me from myself when I was in high school. But I grew up in an extremely liberal family and so I did not have a clear idea what it is that I had done and I did not have guidance from a proper Christian community for a very long time.

Growing up in Utah, it should not be surprising that I studied with the Mormons as well as the Jehova Witnesses but neither really offered to me what attracted be to Jesus in the first place.

I studied a little philosophy and liked both existentialism and eastern mysticism. And then I met the moonies and was member of that group for about ten years. I was married in it and I am still married to it. It was during three years at their seminary (whose teachers are from many different faiths) that I began to take teachings of Paul in the Bible more seriously. But it was not until around eight years ago after being the father of two boys and working on my masters degree in physics that I finally had enough of the moonies and looked for a more traditional Christian church.

Thus I started going to Calvary Chapel of Salt Lake. I respected their very serious study of the Bible and their desire to leave behind some of the cultural baggage of traditional Christianity.

So here I am with a respect for both fundamentalism and the roots of liberal protestantism in the 17th century. However despite my respect for fundamentalism I can hardly call myself a fundamentalist because my commitment to science, love of all types of religion and philosophy, and because my opinions stray from the Bible too often.