Jun 22, 2016
United States
✟21,377.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Private
Hi everyone,

I have a few questions regarding the copyright law and whether or not how I should follow them. I'll link any websites I think are relevant to this. This is going to be quite a lengthy post.

TL;DR at the bottom.

The basic copyright rules, at least in the United States, are: When you create any tangible item (ideas and concepts aren't protected), it automatically becomes a copyrighted item. This means songs, art, articles, news reports, written stories, etc. No one else has the right to recreate, distribute, or use your piece unless you authorize them to do so. You can to use someone else's material if they're considered fair use, but that's for the court to decide if you're ever taken to court.

First:
I've been doing intensive research about this, and I can't seem to come to a definitive answer on what I should do. I'm an artist that enjoys drawing characters from different games/shows/etc., but it's apparently illegal to even draw a character you don't own. Some regard this as stealing because I didn't create this character, but others say it's simply an expression of my appreciation for the character. I don't know.

Simply, if you draw, write about, or dress-up as a character you don't own, you violate copyright law, unless a "judge" says that you're use falls under fair use.
Link
Link

Secondly: