United Kingdom
✟22,286.00
Country
United Kingdom
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Hi everyone. I am a deputy manager in retail and had a really lovely conversation with one of our volunteers today. Within it however they opened up to me about their grief after having lost both their parents towards the end of last year and their sadness that they will ‘never see them again’. I cannot remember exactly what I said but I believe I responded saying ‘I don’t believe that’ and then when they asked something around what I meant, essentially clarifying that I did not believe they will not see them again one day. They responded saying that their mum was a strong believer that there is something after death, that they believe this too and then something around how none of us can know for sure however.

The conversation went on and I wanted it to touch on faith again, so I would be able to say something to explain my beliefs further and in someway correct what I had said, but I was too weak to know how to or what to say. Believing that a belief in Jesus is the only way to enter heaven, I feel awful that I implied that everyone can, regardless of whether they have believed in him or not and so feel very shameful and worried around what to do.