cotton-bud

Jan 2, 2010
Northern Ireland
✟15,116.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
In Relationship
Hey I just got a book called Scars and Stilletos by Harmony Dust. I haven't read it yet but I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions of good Christian books to read? I like ones like that about someone's testimony etc.

Also I'm kind of new to being a Christian and I was wondering if there are any good Bible reading notes for someone who is a new Christian.

keith99

sola dosis facit venenum
Jan 16, 2008
✟321,556.00
Faith
Atheist
Marital Status
Single
I'd advise reading widely. Your chances of falling into grevious error is greatly reduced and yuor understanding of Christian thought is greatly expanded.

Bonhoeffer, C.S. Lewis and George MacDonald all come to mind.

Judging from some of the summary stuff about Harmony Dust I'd be careful regarding what she says. I have first hand knowledge of several of the strip clubs she talks about. There is more variation in strip clubs than there is in most businesses. At least at the Wild Goose girls were not trapped into being strippers. (That is not to say that all clubs are OK, the Century Lounge may well be a place of broken women, I had very little experience there, it did not feel right).

Thinking on it, the blurb about giving the girls a gift bag and having some break down may well be right. When I did frequent the Goose I had a lot of rose bushes at home. I would routinely bring roses for several of the girls, and it was remarkable how different the reaction was to home grown roses was than to money. Again at least at the Goose at least many of the girls cared about eachother. I remember at least once where I gave one of the girls a couple of flowers and she gave them back and asked me to give them to another girl who she felt needed something like that. (I think I declined to take the flowers back, I had more in the car).