Iowa
✟25,153.00
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
First I will start off by telling you that I am a Vet assistant. I have an 18 year old mongrel tabby that has recently been diagnosed with hypertyroidism, which is a disease in which the thyriod gland enlarges and produces high amounts of T4 a hormone. Some of the symptoms of this disease are sudden weightloss with an increased appitite. Tiger presented these problems and I took her in with me to work, where I was interning at the time and we ran a geriatric panel on her. This turned up a 6.3 T4 level, which is not high but it is too high for a cat. Tiger is now on tapizol once a day for the rest of her life to regulate her T4 levels. I was just wondering if other pet owners here have gone through similar things with their animals. I have also gone through the loss of one of my cats, he was 14 and got a very fast progressing mouth cancer, though he has been gone for a year it still is a very tough thing to think about.

retrogeek

Shadow. Cats can't type.
I hope your kitty does well.

We had both a cat and a dog that required twice-daily insulin injections for diabetes. The vet didn't expect either of them to last very long, but they both lived long and happy lives for many years after they were diagnosed.

Neither of them seemed to mind once they were conditioned to the routine. When our cat's injections were cut back to once just at breakfast we discovered that he wouldn't touch his dinner until you pinched him on the shoulder and pretended like you were using a needle. :)

Upvote 0