Bobber

Feb 10, 2004
✟216,888.00
Faith
Non-Denom
As for me I'd say that's a mater of one's own personal conviction. I see nothing wrong with it, if you're saying clean secular music. It would be like asking an artist doing paintings....should every art work just be paintings of Christ or Bible things? Why couldn't an artist do paintings of scenery which are lovely and still be a Christian? Johnny Cash was asked this once and he said I'm not a Christian musician I'm rather a musician who is a Christian.

He did do a gospel album when produces didn't want him to but he said forget it I'm doing it. Again what's the personal conviction of the one making the decision. If they feel somehow all their talent should just go for God Christian themes I'd say for them to just follow their conscience. If they feel somehow bad about it don't bother. Just stay then with the spiritual themes.

Upvote 0

Benjamin Müller

May 19, 2018
Western New York
✟43,598.00
Country
United States
Faith
Messianic
Marital Status
Private
Define secular. God created the inhabited world. If you write a song about a summer day, is this secular? Or are you glorifying God by appreciating his handiwork in making each flower and season and rejoicing in life? Not every song has to say God or Christ did this or that.

Celine Dion is not a Christian singer by genre, but she has mentioned His name in her songs like I'm Alive. Avril Lavigne is not Christian by genre but wrote Head Above Water. Johnny Cash was a good example of a Christian but not by genre, and he wrote Fourth Man in the Fire and Going by the Book and God's Gonna Cut You Down.

Proverbs 8:31 I was rejoicing in His whole world, delighting together in the sons of men.

Upvote 0

2PhiloVoid

Other scholars got to me before you did!
Site Supporter
Oct 28, 2006
The Void!
✟1,134,725.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others