Visit site
✟17,673.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
Though I am only 18, I have seen most of my career goals shatter in a matter of days.

I have always wanted to be a hot-shot lawyer,graduating from a top 25 law school, and having a stable family life(wife+kids;very important for me).

The reality: If you want to make $$$ in law, you need to work A LOT(60, sometimes 70 to 80 hours a week plus weekends). This means you literally will no time for your family. But wait. If you like law, you can still do the whole family thing, but you will end up with a job that doesn;t pay well.That's ok right? No, because most lawyers fresh from law school are in debt 100,000+ in tutiion/housing fees. :doh: However, all of this information I have procured on the internet,but I have seen a lot of consistent data from different sources, so I am sure at least some of it is true.

I honestly don't know what I want to do. I am majoring in poltical science, I will hopefully be tranferring to a prestiogus university soon(UCLA)--all I need is a 3.5,which is not hard for me-- but I am lost.

I want to have a CAREER(not a job) that pays well but, at the same time, allows me sufficient time to have a family.

Is anybody else confused on what they want to do for a living?

HolyOne87

Call Me A Sinner, Call Me A Saint..
Jun 2, 2006
✟18,539.00
Faith
Catholic
Marital Status
In Relationship
i am still a little confused on what to do for a living.
I am aiming for a degree in Human Relations..and not even sure what i want to do with it yet.
I might aim at Social Work..but that also has many sub-divisions on what I can do with that. Not sure what to choose.

Upvote 0

hiddentears37

Aug 24, 2007
✟7,660.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
In Relationship