Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
I think at this point I'd be getting a second opinion. But then what do I know I'm not a doctor, just a parent and a grandparent. Our last grandchild was a 28 wk preemie so I may be a little over cautious.

Reactions: Poppyseed78
Upvote 0

Poppyseed78

Site Supporter
Sep 13, 2016
US
✟275,982.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Thank you for your replies. I did some research about feeding therapists, and now I'm more hopeful. I read that eating can vastly improve after just a few sessions. I plan to call the pediatrician and get a referral on Monday. In the meantime I'll keep offering a variety of different foods. I've seen babies as young as 6 months eating scrambled eggs, Cheerios, and avocado chunks. It makes me so discouraged that my son doesn't seem interested.

Upvote 0

JAM2b

Sep 20, 2014
✟93,117.00
Country
United States
Faith
Non-Denom
Marital Status
Divorced
My oldest son struggled with solid food for a long time. He would want to drink fluids constantly. There were very few foods that he would eat. We now know that he is on the Autism spectrum, which can cause them to have problems dealing with textures and tastes. He also had ongoing medical issues that were obvious which were contributing to it at that time. He is now 18, and still takes in a lot of fluids, but he also eats plenty of food.

I can tell you from our experience, the more we tried to push food on him, the less he wanted to eat. It became a power struggle. It only got better when I left him alone. I kept good foods available to him and offered it to him. I also had him drinking Carnation Instant Breakfast or Ovaltine in his milk. But I didn't try to force him to eat. As his health improved, he naturally started eating more. A doctor told me that a small child will not starve themselves to death. They will eventually eat.