Resha Caner

Expert Fool
Sep 16, 2010
✟155,600.00
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
In one thread of this forum @2PhiloVoid and I discussed the value of a thread on historical method. As I thought about it, I decided such a thread would quickly become untenable because most of the unbelievers in this forum exclusively argue a superiority of science (or what they think is science) regardless of the topic, and, as a result, tend to argue that history is scientific.

Therefore, science is the elephant in the room, and probably the better place to start.

As it happens, when I was an undergrad in history my advisor's specialty was the history of science. Given I already had an M.S. in engineering, she encouraged me to focus on the history of science as well. Though, in the end, I didn't go that direction, I did do considerable reading in the area. A major work I would recommend is Philosophy of Science: The Central Issues, by Curd & Cover. I intend to roughly follow the format of their book - as much as the fractal nature of Internet discussion will allow.

To that end, the first question tackled in that book is: What is science?

miamited

Ted
Site Supporter
Oct 4, 2010
Seneca SC
✟705,807.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
HI RC,

I could just google it and copy and paste some dictionary definition, but I choose to try and formulate what I believe science to be. So, in keeping with that postulate, here's my understanding:

Science is the body of knowledge gathered from observance of actions.. In the study and seeking of scientific data, one can offer theoretical possibilities that, if they can be proven by repeated testing, can become true scientific data. The single caveat that I hold for science is that it cannot prove miracles. By definition a miracle is something that is outside of the scope of natural explanation.

God bless,
In Christ, ted

Upvote 0

SkyWriting

The Librarian
Site Supporter
Jan 10, 2010
Milwaukee
✟410,948.00