Waliz03

Oct 10, 2013
✟7,611.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Hello,

I was just wondering how many has read this amazing recording of some of the most inspiring and true words of Jesus? I think it's weird it is not included in the bible. There is a lot of different teachings about the inner. I don't think all christians interpret Jesus correctly, but i have faith in that i will know what Jesus is saying. Feel free to debate, i'm just a newbie christian ;)

hedrick

Senior Veteran
Site Supporter
Feb 8, 2009
New Jersey
✟1,149,208.00
Faith
Presbyterian
Marital Status
Single
I've read it. There are different theories about date and meaning. Some date it in the 1st Cent, some in the 2nd. The canonical gospels seem to have been accepted by the early 2nd Cent. If Thomas is 2nd Cent it's too late.

But many scholars think it's 1st Cent. It seems to have come from a different environment than the canonical gospels. My usual assumption is that each of them came from a different community, perhaps different areas. I tend to see Thomas as proto-Gnostic. I.e. not a product of full-blown Gnosticism, but an earlier representative of that approach. But I'm not an expert in the area, and I'm not sure that current scholarship really sees it that way

As far as I can tell there's not enough evidence to answer the question of why it isn't in the canon. Since we don't know where it's from, when it was written, or who used it, there's just no way to know. As far as I've been able to tell it isn't quoted in the early to mid 2nd Cent time period when early writers were quoting other gospels (though there's a possible exception in 2 Clement -- but its date isn't well established either, and the quotation could have come from another source).

I can think of two possibilities:

* It's late, and by the time it became well known the Church had settled on the list of Gospels