Status
Not open for further replies.

Mea Culpa

Mar 18, 2004
✟35,521.00
Faith
Christian
Hi,

I am looking for information on Talking in tongues.

Someone was telling me that they speak in tongues, but they don't understand what they are saying. They said it was a prayer language between Christ and them. I said what is the point if you can't understand what you are saying? I just simply don't understand.

He is a good buddy of mine, and I have never done it before. I honestly don't know much about talking in tongues. But I am willing to learn and grow in my Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, so this is why I am asking!! :)

Any info about it would be good. Oh, he also said that he was baptised in the spirit. I asked if he was baptised in the Spirit when he was saved and he said no. So I said I don't understand, because when I was born again I recieved the Holy Spirit.

See, I need help! Thanks again for the info!!

PAX

SumTinWong

Living with BPD
Apr 30, 2004
In a house
Visit site
✟17,886.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
Upvote 0

Archangel

Sith Lord
Jun 3, 2004
Northern Ireland
✟1,343.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
There is another topic on this, but it is really clouded up with arguments, so I'll post this here and there.

We know that tongues are a gift to the church [1 Corinthians 12] and is part of a body of unique gifts. Before I go into a bit of detail let me stress that a lot of Christians believe the gift on tongues has ceased. This idea is taken from the passage below.