North
✟8,993.00
Country
Finland
Faith
Calvinist
Marital Status
Private
Often when I try to expound the Calvinist/Reformed/Presbyterian position I try to resort to a logical reasoning. Now, Christians from other denominations seem to think this is an affront to a genuine Christian thinking. Logic is a no-no. Am I wrong to try to emphasize the logical quality of the Christian teaching?

Of course, there are profound mysteries you simply don't encompass by logic, but there are also practical points of belief you can employ in your daily devotion.

Greg Merrill

Site Supporter
Apr 5, 2017
Las Vegas
✟342,224.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Republican
I have been studying the Word for over 45 years and Romans 9 comes to mind. The Bible speaks of "election", "predestination", "ordained", and other words Calvinists are drawn to, but I have never understood these words or "total depravity" in the way that they do. Irresistible grace, unconditional election, limited atonement; they have just never made sense to me in the light of man's free will to chose God or not, and in God's great love for all mankind. Logic has it's place, but God's ways are greater than man's (Isaiah 55:8-9) and the natural man doesn't receive the things of God (1 Corinthians 2:14).

Upvote 0

Call me Nic

Site Supporter
Dec 27, 2017
✟481,735.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private
Calvinism is a tough pill for me to swallow. The applications of scripture that reformists use, especially in Ephesians 1 or Romans 9 as aforementioned, have always seemed to me misapplications, because there is clear scripture that points against TULIP.

• Agree
Reactions: Greg Merrill
Upvote 0
Oct 21, 2003
Central Time Zone
✟107,193.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private