I'm getting started with prayer beads...

Macrina

Macrinator
Sep 8, 2004
✟22,415.00
Faith
Presbyterian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
*knock knock*
Presbyterian visitor here. :wave:

A friend of mine (ChasingADream) has been telling me about the Anglican rosary and I think it might be a great prayer practice for me. She's even making me my first one! I'm very excited to get started, and I've been doing a little looking online for prayer ideas, etc.

I was hoping, though, to get any personal advice you folks may have for getting started -- I'm a novice in this kind of prayer (not like anybody can be a prayer expert IMO, but you know what I mean), so any guidance you have to offer would be welcome. Links to prayer resources or just thoughts that you have from your own experience would be great -- whatever you're willing to share.

Thanks much! :groupray:

Iosias

Senior Contributor
Jul 18, 2004
✟9,648.00
Faith
Christian Seeker
Marital Status
Private
Whilst most people suggest ACTS (adoration, confession, thanksgiving and supplication) I go for CATS. :)

I do not use an Anglican rosary even if I do have one (somewhere) but I would suggest you start with the creed followed by the Lord's Prayer followed by confession and perhaps you could work in the Kyrie Eleison. :)

Upvote 0

Macrina

Macrinator
Sep 8, 2004
✟22,415.00
Faith
Presbyterian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
Thanks, I was hoping I'd get some responses eventually! :D

I think this could be a great way to meditate on scripture... take a short verse and repeat it for each of the weeks.

I read somewhere that the first use of Christian prayer beads was the Desert Fathers, who had strings of 150 beads, and used them as an aid to reciting all the psalms. I thought that was pretty cool. :)

Upvote 0

Macrina

Macrinator
Sep 8, 2004
✟22,415.00
Faith
Presbyterian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
You do not have to be a Desert Father to recite or read teh psalms.