Status
Not open for further replies.

erinipassi

Apr 14, 2005
✟15,335.00
Faith
Oriental Orthodox
Hi Feo,

There is a really good coptic website which explains why, but because unfortunately I'm a newbie, the forum doesnt allow me to post it, so I'm going to cut and paste from the website as it has a detailed explanation:

"the Christians since the start found it important to celebrate the Crucifixion and Resurrection of our Lord. And, since the dates of these two events were linked to the Jewish Passover, the faithful preferred to keep the tradition of tying glorious feast of the Resurrection to the Passover, yet celebrating it afterwards, so that we may not partake in their feasts. The teachings of the apostles stated that whoever celebrates the Resurrection on a day other than the Sunday (that follows the Jewish Passover) is partaking with the Jews in their feasts, and has separated himself from the Christians.

The determination of the date of the Resurrection feast remained a matter of research and change, until Pope Demetrius, the 12th Patriarch of Alexandria, concerned himself with it, consulted the Scientists of his time, such as Ptolemeus Farmawy, and came up with the APAKTY (Remainder) calculation, on the basis of which the dates of the Great Fast, the Resurrection, Pentecost and the length of the apostles' fast are determined. Pope Demetrius sent his formula to the patriarchs of the other churches, who accepted it and celebrated according to it.

When the first Ecumenical Council convened at Nicea, in 325 AD, it endorsed and confirmed the Apakty calculation. The resolution of the council was that the Patriarch of Alexandria was to determine the date of the Resurrection feast according to this formula and to send to the whole world the dates of the start of Great Fast and of the feast of the Resurrection, together with a paschal letter to be read in the whole world on the Christian Pascha (Resurrection.)