Federal judge temporarily blocks TX abortion law

TLK Valentine

I've already read the books you want burned.
Apr 15, 2012
Behind the 8-ball, but ahead of the curve.
✟541,512.00
Country
United States
Faith
Agnostic
Marital Status
Single
With different history and relationships with alcohol clearly. I'm no expert on Wyoming but I am going to go out on a limb here and say that the teetotal liquor is the devil southern attitude would fall a bit flat there outside of Mormon circles.

Interestingly, I just finished a fascinating Podcast series on prohibition (American History Tellers), that pointed out that the temperance movement that led to Prohibition was partially stoked by post-WWI xenophobia and anti immigration sentiments: beer and wine being associated with Germans and Italians, respectively...

When in doubt, blame the foreigners...

Upvote 0

Mayzoo

Jun 17, 2004
✟205,338.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private
Well, quite. It is the children's and their parents' business, not yours or mine. And in the UK at least, children may drink and smoke at home with parental permission. The alcohol and tobacco laws apply to public places. Is it not the same in America?

In many states, a minor can drink in public if they are within view of their parents. So yes, in those states they can definitely legally drink at home if in view of their parents. Here is part of the Texas law since Texas law is part of the subject of this thread.

(b) A minor may possess an alcoholic beverage:

(1) while in the course and scope of the minor's employment if the minor is an employee of a licensee or permittee and the employment is not prohibited by this code;

(2) if the minor is in the visible presence of his adult parent, guardian, or spouse, or other adult to whom the minor has been committed by a court;

(3) if the minor is under the immediate supervision of a commissioned peace officer engaged in enforcing the provisions of this code; or