Dec 10, 2002
Singapore
Visit site
✟16,661.00
Faith
SDA
Marital Status
Single
Hi guys, i'm from singapore and i'm thinking of doing a masters or some certifications related to theology or religion or something similar. I haven't zoomed in on the specific course i'd like to take but i want to do something like that. I've had this idea of doing theology or whatever for some years now and today i have that strong urge again. However, i don't want to be a pastor, so maybe it's something i want to do just to equip myself. Anyway, the problem is, i want to do distance learning as i'm going to look for a job soon. (I graduated with a bachelors of computing)....so i hope you understand my situation...any advice IS appreciated. Thanks.

Deamiter

I just follow Christ.
Nov 10, 2003
Visit site
✟25,025.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Northwestern College (not to be confused with NW University) near my home has a pretty substantial theological distance learning program. They have a few different majors with dozens of different classes and they target adults almost more than college-age students.

The college itself is very conservative (though not off the wall, but the on-campus atmosphere is too conservative for me) but I DEFINATELY think it would be a good distance program for you to look into, especially since they seem to put a lot of work into focusing on adults. Check it out here:

http://nwc.edu/distance/programs/index.php

It's not a graduate program, but it sounds like a seminary might not be appropriate for you as you haven't studied the basics yet. Of course I could be wrong, but this sounds to me like it's what you're looking for to 'equip' yourself for life in the world. It's not as hard-core as graduate/seminary studies would be, but it's not watered down for a wider audience as many programs are.

Upvote 0

Deamiter

I just follow Christ.
Nov 10, 2003
Visit site
✟25,025.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married