Jul 26, 2011
✟7,825.00
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
I've attended church at both and have to say I do really like both of them. I'm still learning about both, but I would like to know differences in any beliefs between the two.I decided to post this here because I have more liberal leanings. I also have this posted on the Anglican section, but as advised I'm also posting here to get other perspectives.

doulos_tou_kuriou

Located at the intersection of Forde and Giertz
Apr 26, 2006
MinneSO-TA. That's how they say it here, right?
✟17,424.00
Faith
Lutheran
Marital Status
Married
Well, a large difference is around ordination and the clergy. The Lutheran church does not believe in the concepts of Apostolic Succession (Laying on of hands from Bishop to Bishop all the way back to the Apostles makes a valid ordination). It sounds cool, the ELCA has accepted the practice in its communion agreement on the basis of adiaphora (things neither commanded nor forbidden) but does not as the Episcopal church does, believe that is necessary for ordination. AS (as it is often abbreviated in this forum) presupposes a notion that the hierarchy is the church, a top down approach, without which there then would be no church. It causes one to trust in the Apostolic line more than the power of God's Word and the Holy Spirit in making and preserving the church. And it is usually accompanied by a sense of ontological change in the person ordained, something Lutherans do not embrace.