Covenantal Apologetics

Don Maurer

^Oh well^
Jun 5, 2013
Pa, USA, Earth, solar system, milky way, universe.
✟53,230.00
Country
United States
Faith
Calvinist
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Constitution
Covenantal Apologetics by K. Scott Olimphint

The subject of "presuppositional apologetics" has way too many terms to learn and philosophical concepts to graps for me. I only started the book, but its written in regular language that just about anyone can understand. Olimphint says some things I have no knowledge of. He says this method is "covenantal apologetics." He says that to title it "reformed apologetics" would be too broad. I must admit ignorance of the specifics of the variety of reformed apologetics. I have heard many of the names, but do not know the differences.

I will have to say more as I read more. I think this books gives good insight into the apologetical task which non-Philosopers can grasp. Romans 1, Peter, Acts, and several texts establish his concepts in the early part of the book.

Pre-suppositional apologetics is a scary subject that can be hard to read, but this books seems an easy read.

Has anyone finished the book?

Oct 21, 2003
Central Time Zone
✟107,193.00
Country
United States
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Private
Sounds interesting. How does he approach evidence? Does he assume a Christian worldview and reason from his presumed position? Does he mention David Hume or Thomas Aquinas?

K. Scott Oliphint is a Van Tillian, at least in part, the book deals with the term "presuppositionalism" itself. From what I gather Van Til never really liked the term because what he really aimed for was a "Reformed Apologetic" to somewhat borrow from a title of one of the short pamplets he wrote about his works up until that time.