May 13, 2006
✟17,291.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Politics
US-Others
I am interested to know how many people believe which way. Most believe that God = 3 persons. But then, people differ on what those 3 persons are.

So which way do you believe (choose from the statements below)? (I don't know yet, I am still studying...)

3 persons like a committee (like man and wife are one?)

3 persons like 3 roles of a God (Jacob is husband of Leah, Son of Isaak, Father of Juda)

3 persons like parts of one God (like my hand, my mouth, my brain…)

3 persons like - some other idea?

BrendanMark

Apr 4, 2007
Australia
✟16,317.00
Faith
Christian
Marital Status
Single
Off the top of my head, Christ the Logos is the Incarnation of God in/as Man through the Holy Spirit. The formal, traditional definitions are better, of course. The person of the Son is not the Father, although both are God by nature.

Hypostasis is the great shibboleth and controversial term of Christology. First of all, it has the same meaning as prosopon, [which means] “mask”, [“role”], “person”) and denotes the three “Persons” in God; it thus is the reality that is described and expressed as a “manner of existing” or “mode of origin”. In its root meaning, and even in the created realm, “hypostasis” is an essence’s (ousia’s) “being-for-itself”: what distinguishes a concrete being from others of the same genus. So it answers to the question “Who?”, in a broad sense; it is the indication and affirmation of a subject, an “I”. In a broad sense, I say, for the hypostasis is the ontological subject of the ascription of an essence, not the consciousness of such a subject; animals, plants, even stones each have their hypostasis . . .
von Balthasar, Hans Urs – Cosmic Liturgy – The Universe According to Maximus the Confessor [1946, Ignatius Press, trans. Daley, Brian E. 2003, pp 222-223]

Upvote 0

Blackhawk

Monkey Boy
Feb 5, 2002
Ft. Worth, tx
Visit site
✟22,925.00
Faith
Eastern Orthodox
Marital Status
Married